Rawle Andrews Jr. and Shirley Ann Higuchi Elected to Lead BADC

Rawle Andrews Jr Esq

Andrews becomes the only living, 2-term president in the BADC’s 153 Year History

Washington, D.C, District of Columbia Jun 11, 2024 (Issuewire.com) – Rawle Andrews Jr., Esq. begins his 2nd term as president of the Bar Association of the District of Columbia (BADC) on June 12, 2024. Andrews is executive director of the American Psychiatric Association Foundation, a long-time board member of the Thurgood Marshall Center Trust, and an adjunct law professor at the Howard University School of Law and Georgetown University. Andrews is joined at the helm by Shirley Ann Higuchi, Esq., president-elect of the BADC. Higuchi, a former D.C. Bar President, is the associate executive director of legal and regulatory affairs for the American Psychological Association, a long-time trustee of the BADC Foundation, and founding chair of the Heart Mountain Wyoming Foundation.

“It is a humbling privilege to be asked to lead the BADC a second time, particularly as questions about mental wellbeing increasingly drive our daily conversations and routine decision-making,” said BADC president Rawle Andrews Jr., Esq. “There is no question that wellbeing across the legal profession; respect for the rule of law, at home and abroad; and equal access to justice, including troubling judicial vacancies, will be key focus areas for the BADC during the Andrews-Higuchi administration.”

The BADC will install its new officers and directors for the 2024-2025 bar year during the BADC’s Annual Meeting on Wednesday, June 12, 2024, at K & L Gates LLP, 1601 K Street NW, Washington, DC 20006. Other bar leaders joining the Andrews-Higuchi administration include:

The 2024-2025 BADC Board of Directors

Rawle Andrews Jr., Esq., President (2022 – 2023, 2024-2025)

Shirley Ann Higuchi, Esq., President-Elect

Robert C. Cooper, Esq., Treasurer

Andrew L. Hurst, Esq., Treasurer-Elect

Patricia A. Watters, Esq., Secretary

Matthew A. Nace, Immediate Past President

Andrew N. Cook, Past President

Ralph P. Albrecht, Esq., Director

Celina Stewart, Esq., Director

Hon. Diane M. Brenneman, Director

MaryEva Candon, Director

Mark G. Griffin, Director

Michelle E. Klass, Director

Hon. H. Alexander Manuel

About the Bar Association of the District of Columbia

Founded on May 23, 1871, The Bar Association of the District of Columbia (@badc1871) is the 1st bar association in the District and the 3rd oldest bar association in the United States. The BADC is a voluntary bar association. Its members participate in various volunteer committees and sections including the Young Lawyers Section (YLS), the Intellectual Property (IP) Section, the Bankruptcy & Restructuring Section, and over 20 practice area committees. Join us at www.badc.org.

Photos are available by e-mail on request. Contact staff@badc.org

Media Contact

The TCT Design Firm



Source :Bar Association of the District of Columbia

This article was originally published by IssueWire. Read the original article here.

comtex tracking


Post Disclaimer

Disclaimer: The views, suggestions, and opinions expressed here are the sole responsibility of the experts. No Sandiego Currents journalist was involved in the writing and production of this article.


You might also like …